Search the death

For the purposes of registering Births and Deaths, Cumbria was divided into a number of Registrars' Sub-Districts, which could cover anything from part of a large town, up to a group of several dozen rural parishes. The boundaries of these areas have changed frequently over the years since 1837, and as a result many birth and death records have been transferred between different register offices. Click on the name of the Sub-District to see a list of the places it covered.

This page will be updated each time new records are added to the database, and recent additions will also be indicated on the Updates page.

Go back

Death Coverage Last updated 05 Feb 2011
Sub-District Years Operative Registers at Code Years indexed
Barrow in Furness 1876-Present Barrow B 1876-2009
Dalton-in-Furness 1837-1973 Barrow D 1837-1973
Bootle 1837-1939 Millom BOOT 1837-1939
Millom 1939-Present Millom M 1939-2009
Muncaster 1837-1915 Millom MUN 1837-1915
* These offices were in Lancashire up to 1974 but are now in Cumbria